UK Hopefuls For Eurovision Song Contest 2016 Revealed!

Bored of knowing the Eurovision Song Contest winner way before the end of the show?

Well, the competition has announced a major shake-up to the voting system in a bid to create more exciting TV and keep the suspense right until the end!

Under the new system, professional juries and the public for each country will award a separate set of points (up to 12). In previous years, both of their votes were combined.

As normal, each country's representative will appear on TV to deliver scores from their nation. The difference is, they will only be announcing the scores awarded by their jury.

The televoting will be added on last, after all the juries' verdicts have been added up. The points from every country's public vote will be combined so that each act will have one lump total added on to their juries' score.

The host will then announce the televoting results, starting with the country with the lowest public total.

"This new way of presenting the votes is a big step forward, both to make a better television show as well as a more exciting competition," said Eurovision Song Contest executive supervisor Jon Ola Sand.

"There is more reason than ever to vote in the Eurovision Song Contest. The new voting format guarantees that the song which is most popular among the public will receive 12 points regardless of how the juries voted."

Executive producer Martin Österdahl added: "In previous years, the winner has been known for up to 20 minutes before the end of voting and that's not good TV. This format change will inject a new level of excitement into the finish of the Eurovision Song Contest."

It is the biggest change to the voting since 1975, when the douze system was introduced.

In additional Eurovision Song Contest news, for the first time since 2010, the Great British public will have the chance to vote for the act who represents the UK at the Eurovision Song Contest this year!

Six acts will compete in Eurovision: You Decide on BBC Four on Friday 26th February 2016, and it's now been revealed who's up for the chance of heading to Stockholm in May.

First up, former The Voice UK rivals Joe Woolford and Jake Shakeshaft have formed a new pop duo and will compete with their song "You're Not Alone", written by Schwartz, Justin J Benson and S.Kanes:

"We feel seriously honoured to be one of six acts shortlisted to represent the UK in this year's Eurovision Song Contest," they said.

"We want to do everyone proud, whether you're watching at home or cheering from overseas.

"We look at our favourite Eurovision acts like Måns Zelmerlöw and Loreen, and would love nothing more than for the UK to smash it like them.

"It's time we looked like proper contenders in Eurovision again, don't you think?"

Bianca Claxton was the second contender revealed this morning, with her song "Shine a Little Light":

The track was co-written by Ash Howes, Cass Lowe, Richard 'Biff' Stannard, and X Factor champion Leona Lewis.

Folk duo Dulcima were the third act confirmed to be competing in Eurovision: You Decide, with their track "When You Go", written by Tomas Twyman:

Matthew James was the next to be announced with his song "A Better Man", written by Helienne Lindvall, Andrew Fromm and Peter Kvint, shortly followed by female duo Darline and their track "Until Tomorrow", written by Roy Stride, Joshua Wilkinson, Duck Blackwell and Jack McManus:

Finally, Karl William Lund completes the list of UK Eurovision contenders with his self-penned number, "Miracle":

Eurovision: You Decide will be hosted by ​Mel Giedroyc​ at the O2 Forum Kentish Town from 7.30pm this Friday.

The Eurovision Song Contest 2016 grand final will take place on Saturday 14th May 2016 and be broadcast on BBC One.

Source: Digital Spy (I, II)


Popular posts from this blog

"Fun House" Theme Song

Dan Aykroyd Reveals '#Ghostbusters 3' is in the Works! | #Ghostbusters3 | #GhostbustersIII

Jason Reitman to Direct New '#Ghostbusters' Movie; New Animated GB Movie Also in the Works